National Flood Insurance Program


The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) was established with the passage of the National Flood Insurance Act of 1968. In 1973, the Flood Disaster Protection Act was passed. The Act prohibited most types of Federal Assistance for acquisition or construction of buildings in the floodplains of non-participating communities. It also required that buildings located in identified flood hazard areas have flood insurance coverage as a condition of receiving Federal financial assistance or loans from federally insured or regulated lenders, and as a condition for receiving federal disaster assistance.

Flood Insurance Reference Materials

The following are fact sheets, brochures, and booklets on the National Flood Insurance Program and flood insurance. Flood insurance is available for everyone, not just the high-risk zones. More than 20% of flood insurance claims are from the low- to moderate-risk zones.

Answers to Questions about the NFIP
The NFIP Flood Claim Process
Appealing Your Flood Insurance Claim
Increased Cost of Compliance Coverage
Know Your Risk
Myths & Facts About the NFIP
Preferred Risk Policy for Homeowners and Renters
NFIP - Summary of Coverage
National Flood Insurance Program Publications
FloodSmart (NFIP)

National Flood Insurance Program: Risk Rating 2.0

With the implementation of Risk Rating 2.0, FEMA delivers rates that more accurately reflect flood risk and ensure the National Flood Insurance Program will be here for this generation and generations to come. A significant part of FEMA's NFIP Transformation is Risk Rating 2.0, which will fundamentally change the way FEMA prices insurance and determines an individual property's flood risk.

Under the current methodology, all NFIP policyholders have been subject to premium increases every year. Risk Rating 2.0, from a premium increase perspective, does not deviate significantly from the current methodology except annual increases will eventually stop under Risk Rating 2.0 once the full-risk rate is realized. Premium increases will also be subject to the 18% per year cap set by Congress for most policies
Risk Rating 2.0 is equity in action.

With Risk Rating 2.0, individuals will no longer pay more than their share in flood insurance premiums based on the value of their homes. Roughly two-thirds of policyholders with older pre-FIRM homes will see a premium decrease.
FEMA will reduce disaster-related suffering and disaster-related costs in Florida through insurance and the mitigation of flood risks by leveraging advances in industry best practices, technology, and flood risk modeling. FEMA's core mission and programs continue to emphasize purchasing flood insurance and pursuing mitigation options to achieve resiliency.

Listed below are some useful links regarding the National Flood Insurance Program Risk Rating 2.0

Risk Rating 2.0: Equity in Action
Risk Rating 2.0 State Profiles
Risk Rating 2.0 Resources